Could RBR send Kvyat to STR mid season?

Forum rules
Please read the forum rules
Mr-E

Could RBR send Kvyat to STR mid season?

Post by Mr-E »

Not saying they will, but could they change the line-up and shift drivers mid season? Kvyat back to STR and Verstappen (or Sainz) to RBR?
He (Kvyat) is certainly feeling the pressure and even if he scored a podium in China he isn't exactly looking like the next big thing.
So looking at the rules, is it even possible?

Porsan

Re: Could RBR send Kvyat to STR mid season?

Post by Porsan »

If I remember well, the last in-season team change of a driver was in 2009, Fisichella moved from Force India to Ferrari following Felipe Massa's accident and Luca Badoer's lack of performance, so at the time it was possible.

But I don't think Daniil would be "demoted" to Toro Rosso, it wouldn't make any sense. If anything, he would be fired (or at least, fired from his status of Red Bull regular driver).
I'm a racing driver. Always was, always will be.

nixxxon

Post by nixxxon »

Agree with Porsan. You get promoted from TR to RB but not the opposite.

Probably a driver like Kvyat could find a seat elsewhere if he got fired from RB

Lentulus

Post by Lentulus »

Mr-E wrote:
Yes, the rules allow mid-season driver changes, with a maximum of 4 drivers allowed per team, per season.

This particular swap isn't likely, however.

It's more likely that Verstappen would be promoted to RBR during the season than it is that Kvyat would replace him at STR.
If little Max got promoted before the end of the season, it's likely that Gasly or Rowland would get the seat at STR for the last few races.

pokerman

Post by pokerman »

Lentulus wrote:
Mr-E wrote:
Yes, the rules allow mid-season driver changes, with a maximum of 4 drivers allowed per team, per season.

It's more likely that Verstappen would be promoted to RBR during the season than it is that Kvyat would replace him at STR.